Steam Traction World
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Second steaming.First real report.

+3
BUNGLE
hughb
TonyT
7 posters

Go down

Second steaming.First real report. Empty Second steaming.First real report.

Post  TonyT Sun 25 Oct 2009, 11:29 pm

Hi everyone,

As some of you may know,I had a little warm up session last weekend.Today I had another go and decided to go further than just a warm up.This is what happened but please don't think this is the way foward.I am a first time builder who probably too keen after 3 years to get things going.Anyhow here we go!

Valuable lesson No.1
I found that when lighting the fire,think big when it comes to fire lighters and bits of coal.I saved lots of little bits of coal over the last couple of years,look great in the bunker but don't help to get a good fire going.I've found a few bits of coal as big as the fire box hole burn better than lots of little bits as these tend to smother the fire lighters thus starving them of oxygen.Also,find somewhere sheltered from the wind,too much wind might blow the lighters out,it did for me.One thing I did find that really helped was a chimney extension,I went down to a local ATS and scrounged a length of old exhaust pipe.

Valuable lesson No.2