Steam Traction World
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Another newbie looking for advice

+2
Robfishman
btiratsoo
6 posters

Go down

Another newbie looking for advice Empty Another newbie looking for advice

Post  btiratsoo Mon 01 Aug 2016, 4:20 pm

Afternoon all

I've just joined up after knowing about the forum for a while. I'm currently not in a position to buy an engine, but I will hopefully be in the near future. I've had a love affair with all things steam since I was a kid, especially traction engines. I'm a marine engineer and having sailed on various vessels all over the world have now settled down at home and work on a tug. This has lead to me having some more time on my hands as we work week on/ week off. Being in my early 30s I figured its a great time to start looking into building an engine.

My first question would be scale - having seen the 4" scale engines at various rallies, local one being the Bill Targett in Eastleigh, I think this would be a great size to work on as everything is a good size.

What sort of tools are required? Although able to use a lathe and mill I don't have one. I do however have a 10ft x 12ft shed and a fairly well stocked tool box! What do you guys use as an engine shed? Garage, shed, lock-up etc? If you use a shed do you have power to your mancave (or woman cave). Did you insulate it for winter layup? Oh my god so many questions......!

I think I'll stop there. Looking forward to seeing where this goes and getting chatting to you all.

Cheers for now, Ben

btiratsoo

Number of posts : 4
Registration date : 2016-08-01

Back to top Go down

Another newbie looking for advice Empty Re: Another newbie looking for advice

Post  Robfishman Mon 01 Aug 2016, 6:52 pm

Hi Ben

First of all welcome to the forum.  For the first question on tools in my case its been mainly hand tools, I do have bench polisher and a dremel.  Please see Lynn's comments here...