Steam Traction World
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Complete Newbie

+3
Tony King
lynnr
jayceekeys
7 posters

Go down

Complete Newbie Empty Complete Newbie

Post  jayceekeys Tue 31 Dec 2013, 11:45 am

Hi,

Having always been fascinated by everything steam and having been to countless rallies over the years, I have been looking more and more at scale TE's. I have always thought they looked amazing seeing them on the fields at the rallies and also love engineering and building things. I have been looking at numerous websites to try and understand what would be involved in building one - along with what equipment would be required. I have a large amount of tools, but no access to items such as lathes etc. I do have experience of building large projects and have previously built an aircraft (full size) single handed a few years ago. Prior to this I used to be into model engineering (boats, planes and Mammods).

After many years of flying, I have decided that an interest on the ground would probably be more sensible (hangarage at airports is WAY TOO EXPENSIVE), so I am planning on selling the plane and investing in something that can be kept in the garage! I know that this isn't a cheap hobby either, but at least the ongoing monthly costs should be less.

So, I guess my thinking is that the STW kits are more practical for me as they don't require large machine equipment? Also I believe that the 4" variants are more versatile (than the 2") for their ability to operate on less prepared surfaces (fields etc). Has anyone got any idea of typical build times (in hours). I understand some projects can span many years dependant on whether the TE is "scratch built" etc and obviously it's always dependant on the amount of time that is dedicated locked away working (hence why total hours may be more helpful).

If anyone can offer any advice, I would be really, really grateful.

All the best,

Jay

jayceekeys