Steam Traction World
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Finesse lining tape

5 posters

Go down

Finesse lining tape Empty Finesse lining tape

Post  wingman Sat 30 Jul 2016, 9:36 am

Help,has anyone any tips on seperating the clear film from the line guide strips,I have set all my lining out on the tender using the finesse tape but every time I try to remove the clear film that is over the line guides I end up wrecking my tape ends Any suggestions or help would be much apreciated.

John.

wingman

Number of posts : 57
Registration date : 2016-03-31

Back to top Go down

Post  chas12154 Sat 30 Jul 2016, 11:02 am

Hi John, I'm no expert, but I found, if you leave the tape ends, where possible, longer than the line you require, then get a Stanley knife, or similar sharp knife, and hold end of tape on one finger, with the backing on your finger, peal the brown part off, leaving the backing on your finger. Then you can press any of your tape that has come off your part back on and then as you peal the backing off, use another finger to press the two lining parts, back to where you want it. Corners are a pain, but I tried to do one side of the lining strip first, then do abit of the other side.
Its all trail and error I'm afraid. All you can do is your best.

Charlie

P.S. Take a look at my thread, MY BURRELL NEW BUILD. I have pics of my tender on there.
Not as good as some on here, but its the best I can do.

chas12154

Number of posts : 412
Registration date : 2015-01-21

Back to top Go down

Finesse lining tape Empty Re: Finesse lining tape

Post  Robfishman Mon 01 Aug 2016, 8:13 am

Hi John

Yes, as Charlie said leave the ends long and you should be ok.

Regards

Rob
Robfishman
Robfishman

Number of posts : 1061
Registration date : 2010-11-26

http://www.robertfish.net

Back to top Go down

Post  wingman Tue 02 Aug 2016, 6:48 pm

hI Charlie,