Steam Traction World
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Honest Advice/Opinions

+4
lynnr
LiveSteam
elwood-59
Rosss
8 posters

Go down

Honest Advice/Opinions Empty Honest Advice/Opinions

Post  Rosss Tue 08 Feb 2022, 10:59 pm

Hi People,

I've been reading this forum now for a couple of years, it's been interesting and educational. Finally I am looking to place an order for a 4" DCC Road Loco. I am looking for your real world advice/opinions on embarking on this project.

I am a retired Instrument Electrical Engineer with 40 years in the Petrochemical Industry. I'm technically orientated and pretty handy.

My questions to you all if I may are:-

1. I have a single garage, a bench, bench grinder, hand grinder, electric hand drill and a basic set of hand tools. The description of the kits would indicate this is sufficient to put the kit together but is it realistic? I accept I will have to purchase a number of additional items etc but will I in reality require a lathe, a mill or similar 'large' outlay piece of kit?
2. If you were in my position of having not started down the path of building a kit, knowing what you know now would you go ahead with the purchase/build of a kit?
3. If you have completed a kit would you do it again?

I realise I am not putting Lego together but I am looking to enjoy the build not spend inordinate amounts of time remediating kit errors.

Any comments/opinions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

Stewart

Rosss

Number of posts : 24
Registration date : 2022-02-08

Abbo1 likes this post

Back to top Go down

Honest Advice/Opinions Empty Re: Honest Advice/Opinions

Post  elwood-59 Tue 08 Feb 2022, 11:49 pm

Hi Steward,

First of all welcome.

to answer your questions:

0. i have a background in mechanical engineering -  mainly construction macines. I started in honest before my retirement, which happened in the end just when i was finished with Pied Piper.