Steam Traction World
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Advice needed

3 posters

Go down

Advice needed Empty Advice needed

Post  simonbos Mon 10 Mar 2014, 8:07 pm

Hi All
After my fourth steam up at the weekend I am still unable to get water into the boiler from the tender. I am fairly confident that the stainless balls are now seating properly in the clack valves after tapping them gently with a hammer. The pipes from the valves are no longer getting hot.
How long does it take to get some water in from the water pump? - I assumed it was fairly quick and how much pressure do I need on the gauge for the injector to work? I have sealed all the pipe joints so it shouldn't be sucking air and have been told the injector won't work if the water is hot. Any advice gratefully received as I am a complete novice. However every steam up I learn a bit more about the engine even though I seem to get a new leak in a different place each time!
Thanks,
Simon

simonbos

Number of posts : 76
Registration date : 2012-09-20

Back to top Go down

Advice needed Empty Re: Advice needed

Post  highpressure Mon 10 Mar 2014, 9:51 pm

Andy had major issues with the water pump due to a very porus casting. Once the pump is working you should be able to hear the non return balls clattering inside the pump as it works, its a difficult sound to describe but its like a rythmic rattle as the cam turns, the feed pipe and the clack will be cold but dont forget the volume it can pump is quite small ( ram diameter x throw ) which means it will take some time to get water into the engine, you will see it rise very slowly on the glass and the pressure should drop as it cools the boiler down. If you watch this video of a very early steaming at 0.42 I turn on the pump and you can clearly hear the pump noise, thats how you can tell it has picked up.