Steam Traction World
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Looking to connect with this year's Lyka MK2 Series builders.

3 posters

Go down

Looking to connect with this year's Lyka MK2 Series builders.   Empty Looking to connect with this year's Lyka MK2 Series builders.

Post  JPDenver Wed 22 Dec 2021, 6:43 pm

Greetings all.

I am looking to connect with those that are building the Lykamobile (MK2) in the 2021 series of kits.
I have seen a lot of older posts from Grier and Jim. Grier's build log is fantastic by-the-way.

I have not seen anything from the current series.  

Background:
I am a self-taught micro machinist that has been building small engines and water-crafts (RC Model Boats) for the past
10 years.  (See my you-tube channel in the signature if you are interested).   Anyway, turning 70 and changing to a
semi-retirement position, I find I want to increase the scale of my builds and picked the Lykamobile as my next project.
It may be my last big project, I hope to get a number of years of fun steaming before they take me away to the "home".

I contacted Dean last August and we came to the agreement that he would allow me to join the current build series,  
and since I did not want to receive the first kits until March-April 2022, that would give him time to "back-fill" the early kits
and I will start my project in the right sequence.

--------  
So - I would like to communicate, either in the open here, or via email (PM me) with those that are currently in the build cycle.
I assume Kit 11 or 12?  How's it going?  

I also need to stock up on a few larger tools - like an angle grinder? and supplies.  So that will be a topic as well.
For those in the USA, I am curious if there has been any issues with Customs. Any duties or tariffs?

Anyway,
Please reach out of you would like to share, and let's talk.

Much Appreciated,
Happy Holidays to All.

Jim Pope
Denver, CO
USA
JPDenver
JPDenver