Steam Traction World
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Cylinder Block & Fittings

5 posters

Go down

Cylinder Block & Fittings Empty Cylinder Block & Fittings

Post  Jelk Fri 17 Sep 2021, 3:37 pm

I'm working on the cylinder block at the moment. Having read the instructions I'm trying to eradicate the machining marks using a heavy metal block with 400 grit emery cloth attached to it. Am I doing the right thing, is there a better way and do the faces need to be perfectly free of the marks? Is a gasket the better way to go and if so how thick a piece of gasket paper will i need? Sorry there'e lots of questions here but it is my first build which I'm enjoying very much and just want to get it right.Cylinder Block & Fittings 74a0e610
Cylinder Block & Fittings Db87fc10
Cylinder Block & Fittings 594f6110

Last edited by Jelk on Mon 04 Oct 2021, 3:47 pm; edited 1 time in total

Jelk

Number of posts : 23
Registration date : 2020-08-29

Back to top Go down

Cylinder Block & Fittings Empty Re: Cylinder Block & Fittings

Post  Will@STW Fri 17 Sep 2021, 4:20 pm

Hi Jelk

I would recommend foliac myself, it is messy stuff, but ideal for getting into the small gaps. It isn't 100% necessary to clean off all the machine marks, but it doesn't hurt to have a good surface on it. Either way you do need some sort of sealant (be it foliac or a gasket or something else).

Many thanks

Will
Will@STW
Will@STW

Number of posts : 196
Registration date : 2019-01-29

Back to top Go down

Post  lynnr Fri 17 Sep 2021, 5:32 pm

Hi

I used a card joint. Never "cleaned" the machining marks and had zero issue.
lynnr
lynnr

Number of posts : 3242
Registration date : 2010-08-06

Back to top Go down

Post  Jelk Fri 17 Sep 2021, 6:47 pm

Thanks Lynn

Did you use any specific kind of gasket paper?

Jelk

Back to top Go down

Post  Nigel Fri 17 Sep 2021, 8:25 pm

Hi