Steam Traction World
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Cumbrian 4" Showman

+11
Tim Watson
ejparrott
Mick1020
Steve H
TimV
parador
Robfishman
Steve Traill
hartshaulage
lynnr
JayBee
15 posters

Page 1 of 4 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Go down

Cumbrian 4" Showman Empty Cumbrian 4" Showman

Post  JayBee Wed 17 Feb 2016, 8:15 pm

Having visited the GDSF on a number of occasions and greatly enjoyed all the full size and smaller engines on display I have taken the plunge and embarked on building a STW Burrell and being seduced by the line up of Showman's engines it had to be the one to go for so here goes!

Cumbrian 4" Showman F120e7ba-e111-4d52-b85b-4e131caf13d4_zpsjr2q2ku4

My background is in engineering and I have done a little model engineering but this will be a challenge. I am planning to document my probably slow progress to adding another 4" Showman's to the line up of excellent engines already out there.

Cumbrian 4" Showman C8f9e055-b439-4f7e-a093-69dd61b5f4fb_zpsdbsqmx2m

This is not the first bit to get done but having painted the smokebox it really felt that there was some progress. Paint is Barbecue satin black and I will be Nickel plating the exposed steel parts. The puzzle with the plating is that I have not found anything to indicate how to judge the thickness of the plating or how much is required to provide corrosion protection. Also, If anyone has comments on an optimum size for photos I would appreciate yoiur comments these are very much as they came from the camera.

John

Last edited by JayBee on Wed 17 Feb 2016, 9:40 pm; edited 1 time in total

JayBee

Number of posts : 104
Registration date : 2015-11-23

Back to top Go down

Cumbrian 4" Showman Empty Re: Cumbrian 4" Showman

Post  lynnr Wed 17 Feb 2016, 8:35 pm

Hi

And welcome aboard the Showman train.