Steam Traction World
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

2" Burrell

+8
CaptainClag
Julia
IanL
lynnr
TonyT
bjwlancashire
Robfishman
Ricey
12 posters

Go down

2" Burrell  Empty 2" Burrell

Post  Ricey Wed 07 Mar 2012, 5:47 pm

Hello everyone I'm seriously considering getting one of these engines but just can't decide whether to commit Shocked
I've never done anything like this before and seems a big commitment. Can anyone give me any advice, are they pretty straight forward to build?
Thanks Very Happy

Ricey

Number of posts : 2
Registration date : 2012-03-07

Back to top Go down

2" Burrell  Empty Re: 2" Burrell

Post  Robfishman Wed 07 Mar 2012, 10:39 pm

Before I start I should say I'm building the 4" showmans but your probably thinking the same as me before I started.

I was in the same position about a year ago, never worked with metal before and have no idea how to operate a traction engine (dont panic though I will know by the time I finish the build). What I can tell you is there is a great bunch of people both here on the forum and at STW who are never far away with help and advise. I've also picked up quite a lot from other owners on the rally field.

It's been a dream of mine for more years than I care to remember to own a traction engine, and I have to say without the work done by STW, and the service they offer I would probably never manage it, and certainly would not work on building it.