Steam Traction World
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

4 1/2" Scale Foden SWB.

2 posters

Go down

4 1/2" Scale Foden SWB. Empty 4 1/2" Scale Foden SWB.

Post  Lady Martha Tue 07 Jul 2020, 11:03 pm

Hi All. I'm a newbie to the STW family just starting out on my adventure with a 4.5" Foden SWB. How many others are currently building one of these and how far along are you with yours.

Thanks Mathew.

Lady Martha

Number of posts : 3
Registration date : 2020-06-11

Back to top Go down

4 1/2" Scale Foden SWB. Empty Re: 4 1/2" Scale Foden SWB.

Post  atomenter Thu 09 Jul 2020, 7:57 am

Hi Mathew
Welcome to the gang.  I built my SWB a few years ago and welcome any queries on the build and running etc.  Have fun it's a great build.
Regards
Tom
atomenter
atomenter

Number of posts : 178
Registration date : 2008-06-26

Back to top Go down

Post  Lady Martha Thu 09 Jul 2020, 9:58 pm

Hi Tom. Thanks for the welcome and offer of assistance if required. I am sure I've seen your foden in a YouTube video of summerlee steam fair last year. Did you do a build log during build noting any issues that arose. Thanks Mathew.

Lady Martha

Back to top Go down

Post  atomenter Fri 10 Jul 2020, 7:22 am

Hi Mathew
Yes I kept (and still do) a log of the build and all the running and shows attended. I also keep a note of total distance travelled going to the shows and a steaming log. It helps as the memory starts to go!!
Awra best
Tom
atomenter
atomenter

Number of posts : 178
Registration date : 2008-06-26

Back to top Go down

Post  Lady Martha Sun 12 Jul 2020, 6:55 pm

Hi Tom.

Hope you don't mind me picking your brains. I have done a dry assembly of kit 1 today and have a few questions/issues

I assembled the chassis rails to the cross members first followed by installing the boiler cradle.