Steam Traction World
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Newbie looking for completed STW 4" engine with record of history etc

3 posters

Go down

Newbie looking for completed STW 4" engine with record of history etc  Empty Newbie looking for completed STW 4" engine with record of history etc

Post  Mayor1000 Fri 20 Oct 2023, 10:36 am

Hello. I'm looking for a second hand STW 4" engine, probably a Burrell. I am not a trained engineer and my local boiler inspector has recommended that I look for an STW model since spare parts are relatively easy to obtain. I'm located in Cornwall, and a member of the West of England Society, but travelling a reasonable distance to find the right example is only to be expected when one lives so far west. Paperwork and history of the engine will be essential. Any help is welcome. Steven Horne

Mayor1000

Number of posts : 3
Registration date : 2023-10-20

Back to top Go down

Newbie looking for completed STW 4" engine with record of history etc  Empty Re: Newbie looking for completed STW 4" engine with record of history etc

Post  Simon C Sat 21 Oct 2023, 8:53 am

Mayor1000 wrote:Hello. I'm looking for a second hand STW 4" engine, probably a Burrell.
Steven Horne

Hi Steve
Have you looked at the dealers such as,
Berrybrook steam
Stationroad steam
Legacy vehicles

Berrybrook have 3 STW engines at the moment all different types.

Did you have a preference as to what you want ?
I Have a roller that I would let go if the price was right as it hasnt been in steam since its test earlier this year.

It also might be worth getting in touch with STW as they may know of something coming up for sale.
Hope this helps and good luck in finding what you are looking for.

Simon C
Simon C
Simon C

Number of posts : 303
Registration date : 2017-07-07

Back to top Go down