Steam Traction World
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Newbie Topic - 4" Burrell, SCC or Agricultural

4 posters

Go down

Newbie Topic - 4" Burrell, SCC or Agricultural Empty Newbie Topic - 4" Burrell, SCC or Agricultural

Post  NemoKESR Sun 31 Jan 2016, 8:42 pm

Hi all,

I'm a newbie to the traction engine world in terms of owning or building, however I have a keen interest in them.

Now, I would quite like a 4" Burrell. However, I do not know which to have - a single cylinder agricultural or a single crank compound?

Obviously the agricultural is cheaper than the SCC, but are there advantages to having an SCC? More power? Greater economy?

Any advice and information would be greatly appreciated.

Will

NemoKESR

Number of posts : 5
Registration date : 2014-05-04

Back to top Go down

Newbie Topic - 4" Burrell, SCC or Agricultural Empty Re: Newbie Topic - 4" Burrell, SCC or Agricultural

Post  gwr1475 Sun 31 Jan 2016, 9:15 pm

I would go for the SCC. Its a compound so yes more power, better economy, belly tanks, higher working pressure etc. They are a little bigger. I also like the look of the tall cylinder blocks.

Personally I would spend the extra money, you get a lot more engine for the extra money.

mark
gwr1475
gwr1475

Number of posts : 61
Registration date : 2012-11-18

Back to top Go down

Newbie Topic - 4" Burrell, SCC or Agricultural Empty Re: Newbie Topic - 4" Burrell, SCC or Agricultural

Post  NemoKESR Sun 31 Jan 2016, 9:48 pm

An extra £2000 seems a lot for a bit more power and a bit more economy. Is it really worth it?

I agree that the cylinder block looks better. Also, for the STW SCC is it possible to leave the motion guard side plate things (whatever the proper name is) off the loco. I like having the motion exposed.

NemoKESR

Back to top Go down

Post  Jim the Shovel Sun 31 Jan 2016, 9:55 pm