Steam Traction World
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Hi - from another new person

+2
lynnr
ClaudiaPB
6 posters

Go down

Hi - from another new person Empty Hi - from another new person

Post  ClaudiaPB Mon 10 Dec 2012, 5:12 pm

Hello,

I've just got my first couple of kits and am looking forward to getting started. I'm a bit worried as I got stuck on the first paragraph of the first kit instructions, I thought fillet was a bit of fish with the bones taken out, I had to call a friend for a translation of what it was. No idea what a T joint is either. I've no experience of metalwork and now have a bad feeling I won't manage this build, but gonna give it a go anyway. No doubt I will be stuck on paragraph 2 by tomorrow, but am being kept busy with endless filing of front wheels for now. Some photos in the instructions, and equipment list would be handy - anyone else agree?

ClaudiaPB

Number of posts : 8
Registration date : 2012-12-10

Back to top Go down

Hi - from another new person Empty Re: Hi - from another new person

Post  lynnr Mon 10 Dec 2012, 6:58 pm

ClaudiaPB wrote:Hello,

I've just got my first couple of kits and am looking forward to getting started. I'm a bit worried as I got stuck on the first paragraph of the first kit instructions, I thought fillet was a bit of fish with the bones taken out, I had to call a friend for a translation of what it was. No idea what a T joint is either. I've no experience of metalwork and now have a bad feeling I won't manage this build, but gonna give it a go anyway. No doubt I will be stuck on paragraph 2 by tomorrow, but am being kept busy with endless filing of front wheels for now. Some photos in the instructions, and equipment list would be handy - anyone else agree?

"Fillet" translates to fill it up.
"T" ring is a strip of metal shaped like a T and bent into a ring. Ie the wheel.