Steam Traction World
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

initial firing of 2" Burrell

+2
Mark the spark
Mike King
6 posters

Go down

initial firing of 2" Burrell Empty initial firing of 2" Burrell

Post  Mike King Thu 24 Nov 2016, 11:35 am

I wonder if anyone can advise. I have just 5 kits left to go on my engine. Hopefully firing it up by around next May. I'm wondering if its worth the initial steaming by using a gas burner instead of coal. As a complete novice, I was thinking that should anything go wrong, the fire could be easily extinguished. Anyway everyone, whats your thoughts and advice?
Mike

Mike King

Number of posts : 318
Registration date : 2014-09-04

http://www.mikekingphotography.co.uk

Back to top Go down

initial firing of 2" Burrell Empty Re: initial firing of 2" Burrell

Post  Mark the spark Thu 24 Nov 2016, 3:10 pm

I would not use a gas burner myself as they can cause hot spots
start with a small fire if you are unsure and build it up
if you get over your head the best way I have found to put a fire out is stuff a rag in the top of the chimney and turn on the blower on this forces the steam down the tubes and through the fire and puts it out very quickly
this is how I do it and other people will have there own ways
hope this helps
mark

Mark the spark

Number of posts : 389
Registration date : 2015-04-26

Back to top Go down

Post  Mike King Thu 24 Nov 2016, 3:22 pm

Thanks Mark, i hadn't thought of the hotspot issue. It seems thag your suggestion makes the most sense. Once again thanks. Mike

Mike King

Back to top Go down

Post  LiveSteam Thu 24 Nov 2016, 8:45 pm

As Mark says steer clear of gas burners Shocked likely to warm it all up way to quick especially as the 2" is a copper boiler from memory.

I suspect you'll have enough fun just lighting and trying to keep a fire going in a 2" to start with rather than worry about it running away with you Wink