Steam Traction World
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

STW owners Burrell 4"

4 posters

Go down

STW owners  Burrell 4" Empty STW owners Burrell 4"

Post  augustrock Mon 20 Jun 2016, 4:55 pm

I am a novice with a 4" Agricultural. Can an old hand steamer please tell me the best way to clean the chimney after steaming?

augustrock

Number of posts : 29
Registration date : 2008-06-19

Back to top Go down

STW owners  Burrell 4" Empty Re: STW owners Burrell 4"

Post  lynnr Mon 20 Jun 2016, 10:18 pm

Inside or outside?

Inside. I use the tube brush. Open the door to let some light in and run the brush up and down the inside. Watch the blower pipe though.

Outside. Oily rag while the chimney is hot gives a nice shine and protection.

Chimney top. Elbow grease and peak polish when cool.
lynnr
lynnr

Number of posts : 3242
Registration date : 2010-08-06

Back to top Go down

Post  Steve Traill Mon 20 Jun 2016, 10:58 pm

I've cut a piece of plastic 1.5" waste pipe about 26" long with a sharp angle at one end. With a file/bit of sand paper sharpen the edge of the angled cut. Place a couple of bits of paper towel in the smoke box (when it's cold) and scrape the chimney clean. It all peels off onto the paper with very little sticking to the pipe. A sharpened bamboo cane cleans the fiddley bit around the blast nozzle & blower pipe. Wrap up the paper, job done, hands clean!!
Steve Traill
Steve Traill

Number of posts : 800
Registration date : 2008-06-29

Back to top Go down

Post  LiveSteam Mon 20 Jun 2016, 11:14 pm

Well how funny to see a post like this.