Steam Traction World
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Dan's 4" Burrell

+2
Brian M
Dan
6 posters

Go down

Dan's 4" Burrell Empty Dan's 4" Burrell

Post  Dan Tue 22 May 2012, 4:15 pm

I've been building the Burrell now for about 8 months. Time has flown by! I started the build by making a bench and constructing a workshop which takes up about a quarter of the garage. It's got an external door but the finished engine would not fit through so I have made a false wall in the room that gains access to the main garage. There are some pictures of those 2 projects elsewhere on the forum. It's proven it's warmth over the winter period remaining a cosy 18 degrees for the duration. Anyway, pictures of builds on this forum are a constant source of enthusiasm and interest for most of us so it is time for me to contribute!

First up are 2 front wheels, a perch bracket and a blackened leaf spring. What are peoples views on painting the centre of the wheels? I haven't but with hindsight.... The colour is Craftmaster crimson lake. It was going to be green, then plum, then green, in the end I asked the better half what colour she liked and crimson lake it was!

Dan's 4" Burrell IMG_4077

Next up are my rear wheels and a dusty smokebox. The rear wheels only need to be wire wheeled before painting. Oh hang on, I've got a handfull of nuts to round off as well and an oiler to fit before priming:

Dan's 4" Burrell IMG_4079

More dusty parts. All of these need little touches of paint where I baked the VHT paint in the oven and left bits behind when removing them Rolling Eyes

Dan's 4" Burrell IMG_4082

Here's my water cart chassis, flatted back ready for final coat of black enamel. It's a a bit too windy out there today to spray it though:

Dan's 4" Burrell IMG_4083

Inside the workshop and cart wheels and spring hangers ready for their first coat of undercoat this evening:

Dan's 4" Burrell IMG_4084